ROADWAYS TO THE FEDERAL BENCH WHO, ME? A BANKRUPTCY JUDGE?

October 24, 2019, 3:00-5:00 321 S. Plymouth Court, Chicago Registration Here:

https://www.uscourts.gov/judges-judgeships/about-federal-judges/roadways-federal-bench-who-me-bankruptcy-judge

In an effort to improve diversity in the federal bench, the Judicial Conference of the U.S. Committee on the Administration of the Bankruptcy System is hosting an event to help lawyers and law students learn from sitting judges about their journeys to the bench.

The program will start with a livestreamed panel of distinguished judges, who will introduce the program to all 19 of the participating cities. The judges will talk about their own pathways to the bench, and they will offer their thoughts on the importance of diversity in the federal bankruptcy bench and bar.

Following the video segment, the Chicago participants will enjoy an hour of "round-robin" discussions, with judges from across the Seventh Circuit. The circuit, district, bankruptcy, and magistrate judges will rotate through the tables for more in-depth discussions. A short reception will follow.

We are delighted to report that our participating judges will include:

Hon. Diane P. Wood	Chief Circuit Judge	Seventh Circuit
Hon. Jorge L. Alonso	District Judge	N.D. Ill.
Hon. Edmond E. Chang	District Judge	N.D. Ill.
Hon. Sharon Johnson Coleman	District Judge	N.D. Ill.
Hon. Virginia M. Kendall	District Judge	N.D. Ill.
Hon. Janet A. Baer	Bankruptcy Judge	N.D. Ill.
Hon. Jacqueline P. Cox	Bankruptcy Judge	N.D. Ill.
Hon. Carol A. Doyle	Bankruptcy Judge	N.D. Ill.
Hon. A. Benjamin Goldgar	Bankruptcy Judge	N.D. Ill.
Hon. LaShonda A. Hunt	Bankruptcy Judge	N.D. Ill.

Hon. Thomas M. Lynch	Bankruptcy Judge	N.D. Ill.
Hon. Jack B. Schmetterer	Bankruptcy Judge	N.D. Ill.
Hon. Deborah L. Thorne	Bankruptcy Judge	N.D. Ill.
Hon. Eugene R. Wedoff (RET.)	Bankruptcy Judge	N.D. Ill.
Hon. James R. Ahler	Bankruptcy Judge	N.D. Ind.
Hon. Beth E. Hanan	Bankruptcy Judge	E.D. Wisc.
Hon. Brett H. Ludwig	Bankruptcy Judge	E.D. Wisc.
Hon. Susan E. Cox	Magistrate Judge	N.D. Ill.
Hon. Sheila M. Finnegan	Magistrate Judge	N.D. Ill.
Hon. Iain D. Johnston	Magistrate Judge	N.D. Ill.
Hon. Young B. Kim	Magistrate Judge	N.D. Ill.
Collins T. Fitzpatrick	Circuit Executive	Seventh Circuit

Registration is open at https://www.uscourts.gov/judges-judgeships/about-federal-judges/roadways-federal-bench-who-me-bankruptcy-judge. This site provides additional information about the event. Space is limited and registrations will be accepted in the order of registration. There is no charge to attend.

For more information, please contact: Laura McNally, Attorney Co-Chair of the Chicago Planning Committee lmcnally@loeb.com, 312-464-3155